Please rotate your device


Mourinho equals Ferguson, Clough with 4th League Cup triumph

After Sunday's EFL final win at Wembley against Southampton (3-2), Jose Mourinho joins with two of the game’s great men in the history books.

Four is the magic number, at least when it comes to managers winning the League Cup... 

Brian Clough and Sir Alex Ferguson are the only other two bosses to have held the trophy aloft on four occasions in the competition's history, and with Mourinho's win against Southampton, he join the elite.

“I am a bit emotional. It is not easy to win titles so many times – there is pressure I have put myself under throughout my career,” said Mourinho, who also became the first United boss to win a major trophy in his first season at Old Trafford.

“The cup is for the players. My last cup here, with Chelsea against Tottenham, was emotional too.”

His previous successes all came with Chelsea across two spells, in 2005, 2007 and then again in 2015. After Sunday's win, The Special One is also the first to hit the total four with more than one club. 

Mourinho's magic: 
2005: Chelsea 3-2 Liverpool 
2007: Chelsea 2-1 Arsenal 
2015: Chelsea 2-0 Tottenham Hotspur

2017: Manchester United 3-2 Southampton

As for Manchester United, they also made moves up the honours list with victory against Southampton on Sunday. 

Today's triumph at the home of football takes the club to five League Cup titles, level with Aston Villa and Chelsea, and second only to Liverpool (8).